Job reference: FA WN EL

Area: East Lothian
Working pattern: Part-time
Closing date: Open
Rate of pay: £9.75 an hour

Wanted: Interesting and wonderful humans, who are passionate about caring for people and looking for a diverse job in Musselburgh, where no two days are exactly the same.

I am a creative person in my 20s who loves nature, photography, Yorkshire Tea, escaping into literary worlds and maybe ever so slightly obsessed with Doctor Who and Hamilton the musical.

I’m also passionate about social justice issues, anthropology and anything involving etymology, words and language.

I have several rare conditions that mean I use a wheelchair to get around, experience high levels of fatigue and have some complex health issues. Consequently I am looking for people to join my team of Personal Assistants to help me with daily living tasks.

Your mission, should you choose to accept it, is to come and help be my arms and legs and assist me in my home and on occasional trips out. No day is exactly like another as my conditions are variable. However tasks will include but not be limited to; helping with showering and dressing, preparing and cooking meals, assisting with building and tending a nature garden, discussing the latest political event, making phone calls, housework and laundry and joining in with art and craft activities, baking and going on random fact finding missions.

I may also occasionally need support prepping for meetings, running small errands and accompanying me on sourcing the best dropped kerbs East Lothian has to offer.

There are 26 hours per week to be split between at least two PAs. Hours are flexible and this can be discussed fully at an interview, however will be split between morning, late afternoon and evening. You do not need to be able to cover all three shifts a day, though the ability to cover staff absences is beneficial.

Person Specification:

Essential

– Have a good sense of humour.

  • Reliable, trustworthy and organised.
  • Adaptable to variable health conditions.
  • Understand the social model of disability and how the role of a PA fits into this.
  • Able to follow both verbal and written instructions yet also show initiative when required.
  • Happy in a kitchen making simple meals from scratch.
  • Ability to make a superb cuppa.
  • Willing to B.Y.O.W. (Bring Your Own Wellies). For me my wheelchair is not a restraint but a ticket to freedom and I like to put it through its paces, so being happy to go on muddy walks or plant things in the garden is essential.
  • Be generally in good health- due to a high risk of complications from illness PAs must not come to work when ill.
  • A reasonable degree of fitness- the job requires some moving of medical equipment.
  • Calm and positive manner.
  • Able to respect my choices, privacy and independence.

Desirable

  • Comfortable with occasional (well behaved) visiting dogs.
  • Ability to endure listening to musicals (extra points if you know the lyrics) and happy to introduce me to other music too, I have an eclectic taste.
  • Similar interests e.g. art, nature and being out of doors.
  • Non-smoker.
  • Educated to secondary level or above.
  • Some understanding of neurodiversity. Would ideally suit a mature student, freelance worker or creative person working from home and looking for some additional regular hours. May also suit someone looking for experience and considering a medical career or gaining knowledge of disability social issues. No direct care experience required just a willingness to learn.

This job is for females only as part of a genuine occupational requirement.


How to apply

To apply please send your CV and a cover letter explaining why you are suitable for the position and please include your available hours. Please quote reference FA WN EL and email to pajobs@lothiancil.org.uk

Scroll to top