Job reference: NS WN EL

Area: East Lothian
Working pattern: Full-time | Part-time
Closing date: Open
Rate of pay: £12 per hour

I am looking for a personal assistant to support my daughter, a young woman with autism and Down syndrome. This role will be to support her in and out of the home offering companionship and accompanying her to experience adventures old and new.

 

My daughter is a friendly, bubbly individual who loves to sing along to her favourite tunes, go swimming and go to see live musicals often with her trusty Woody doll by her side. It is important to find the right person for the job who can form a meaningful relationship with my daughter based on trust, respect and having a fun together. A proactive approach in finding suitable activities for her to enjoy is a plus.

 

Although my daughter is young she is very set in her ways and can find change to be very distressing. It is therefore important that a perspective PA be willing to take instruction from myself and my daughter about “how things should be done” and willing to take the time to learn how to communicate with my daughter effectively.

 

It is essential that the PA have a full, clean UK driver’s license, ideally with over a year of experience on the roads. It would be ideal if an applicant is over 25, as this means you can use my car to support my daughter with outings, however I am willing to discuss the option of a PA using their own vehicle, with compensation for mileage. It is most important to me that I find a person with the right personality and attitude to be a part of my daughter’s life.

 

It is also essential that the applicant be pet friendly as we have a loveable 3 year old black lab who is very friendly, full of energy and excited when meeting new people. Our dog thinks the world of my daughter and so it is important that the PA is comfortable around him.

 

We are requesting female only applicants as duties may include support to shower or taking my daughter swimming, however the main focus of the role will be to support her with socialization, getting out of the house to do the things she love. There may be some days where my daughter just wants to stay inside. On these days your role would be to offer companionship, perhaps settling down with her to watch a movie.

 

There is full-time work available, with a maximum of 30 hours per week, but there is scope for those looking to do less hours.  Applications from people looking to do 15 hours or less per week welcome.  Please indicate your availability when applying.

 

Rate of pay is £12 per hour.

 

It is essential that an applicant is either a member of the PVG scheme or willing to join.

 

 

*Genuine Occupational Requirement


How to apply

Please apply as soon as possible by sending in your CV or completing and returning an application form.

 

For more information and an application form, please obtain an application pack.  This can be downloaded by following this link: Download NS WN EL application pack June 2024 or by emailing pajobs@lothiancil.org.uk and quoting reference NS WN EL.

 

CV should be emailed to pajobs@lothiancil.org.uk and quote reference NS WN EL.

 

Scroll to top