Job reference: MC WN

Area: City of Edinburgh
Working pattern: Part-time
Closing date: Open
Rate of pay: £13 per hour

Rate of pay £13 per hour


One part time 15 to 20  hour a week contract available – roughly 3 days a week (very flexible hours) would consider one person doing 15 hours only per week.


Hey I’m Maya and I’m a disabled young adult (manual wheelchair user) living in Edinburgh with my flat mate. I am looking for a hard-working, caring and reliable person to provide a high level of care for me at my new build three bedroom terraced house in Morton Hall.


The aim of the job is to assist me with my physical/personal care needs so I can make the most of living independently. The personal assistant (PA) should also be eager to enable me to socialise with my peers and maintain a clean house.


Duties will include assisting me with personal care in the morning/ evenings (there is a Genuine Occupational Requirement for female applicants only), being on call while I socialise with others when prearranged, assist me to cook and prepare food, assist me with food shopping, gardening, helping me to travel around Edinburgh or the Lothians to social activities, drama classes or to run errands and help me with small general cleaning tasks. The PA should also be keen and eager to motivate/help me carry out a fitness routine which will include help with physio, swimming, attending my local gym and chaperoning me outside while I walk on my walking frame.


A little bit about me. I am an actor from Edinburgh. I also absolutely love travelling, writing, baking, swimming and girls night in/out! I’m a massive book nerd especially when it comes to dystopian thrillers! My favourite food is cheese and pasta and I’m a huge stranger things fan.


I am looking for someone who is easy to get along with, has a sense of humour, can take initiative and who can work hard. Above all, the PA should be caring, empathetic and committed to ensuring the happiness and healthy development of myself.


There is also a possibility for extra hours for travelling with me on small work trips.  There may be occasional sleepovers.

All students welcome to apply. Please note that the number of working hours / working days and times can be flexible and adjusted depending on your work and academic commitments.


It is preferable that you have qualifications and/or experience supporting physically disabled people, although I will consider all applicants with a passion for care and helping others regardless of experience and qualifications. Being able to drive is a positive but not essential. Free parking is available outside my house.


The post will start as soon as possible.




How to apply

If you are interested please get in touch with me ASAP by emailing with more information about yourself, including your qualifications and experience along with how many hours you would like to do.  A CV is preferred

Quick apply

To instantly apply for this vacancy, please use the form below to upload your CV and covering letter and press “submit”.
Scroll to top