Job reference: MC WN

Area: City of Edinburgh
Working pattern: Full-time | Part-time
Closing date: Open
Rate of pay: £14.18 per hour

Rate of pay £14.18 per hour.

To apply email your cover letter and CV to: mayalcoates@gmail.com

Post available now!

Hey I’m Maya an actor, writer and content creator living in Edinburgh with my housemate. I have a physical disability and use a manual wheelchair full-time. I’m currently on the lookout for 2 new Carers/PA’s to join my team and provide me with a high level of care at my house near Liberton, Edinburgh. I’m looking for people who are hard-working, can take initiative, have a sense of humour, and are reliable, empathetic, committed and caring.

1 full time (4/5 days a week) and 1 part time (2/3 days a week) contract available ranging from 15 to 30 hours a week. Very flexible hours and working days. The job would involve a mix of weekday and weekend hours. Both carers/PA’s would ideally work every second weekend so everybody has some weekends off etc.

The aim of the job is to assist me with my physical/personal care needs so I can make the most of living independently. Duties will include assisting me with personal care in the morning/evenings, being on call while I socialise with others when prearranged, assist me to cook and prepare food, assist me with food shopping, gardening, helping me to travel around Edinburgh or surrounding areas to social activities, travel with me to my weekly drama classes and helping me with general cleaning tasks. The PA should also be keen and eager to motivate/ help me carry out a fitness routine which will include help with physio, swimming and attending my local gym.

A little bit about me. I love travelling, content creating, writing, going to the gym, swimming, cheese, festivals and gals nights in/out! My most memorable travelling experience was visiting Australia. I enjoy getting cosy in front of the TV after a long day. Some of my favourite shows include The Last of Us, Bridgerton, Heartstopper and You! I’m currently working on growing my TikTok to educate others about what life is like as a wheelchair user and how disability doesn’t stop you from achieving your goals! I try to always live my life to the full while having a laugh along the way!

There is a large possibility for extra hours for travelling with me on work trips or travelling overseas. There may be occasional sleepovers but this is not essential. All students welcome to apply. Please note that the number of working hours / working days and times can be flexible and adjusted depending on your work and academic commitments.

It is preferable that you have experience in care work although I will consider all applicants with a passion for care and helping others regardless of experience and qualifications. Being able to drive is a positive but not essential. Free parking is available outside my house.

The post will start as soon as possible.

 

Maya


How to apply

If you are interested please get in touch with me ASAP by emailing mayalcoates@gmail.com with a cover letter including more information about yourself, your qualifications and experience along with how many hours you would like to do. A CV is preferred.

Scroll to top